Mississippi Building Codes

Building Codes References

The state of Mississippi does not have a statewide building code. Building code adoption and enforcement is primarily the responsibility of local jurisdictions. Mississippi does require that state buildings meet the requirements set forth in the 1997 Standard Building Code, mandatory for all jurisdictions.

In 2006, Bill 31-11-33 created the Mississippi Building Code Council, and requires five coastal counties, Jackson, Harrison, Hancock, Stone and Pearl River to enforce, on an emergency basis, all of the wind and flood mitigation requirements prescribed by the 2003 International Building Code and the 2003 International Residential Code.

Code TypeCode ModelAmendment Contact
Fire/Life Safety Code2006 IFC
Energy CodeNoneN/A
Other CodesSpecial construction standards are required for health care facilities. These standards are administered by the Health Facilities Licensure and Certification, Dept. of Health. PDF versions of the agency's regulations are available on the site.

Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJ)

Authorities Having Jurisdiction are those government officials who are the final authority on questions in a particular area (or jurisdiction).
Jurisdictional AreaContact
Fire MarshalRicky Davis
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Phone: (888) 648-0877
Building codes are also available for these other Mississippi municipalities: